The Australian National University, Canberra +61 2 6125 2510
  • Admin. staff 3,681
  • Affiliations Group of Eight, APRU, IARU, AURA, ASAIHL
  • Campus Urban, 358 acres (1 km2)
  • Endowment A$1.2371 billion (as of December 2010) Chancellor
  • Established 1946
  • Location Acton, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
  • Postgraduates 4,752
  • Type Public
  • Undergraduates 8,688
  • Vice Chancellor Professor Ian Young
  • Vice principal
The Australian National University (ANU) is a public university located in Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia. Established by a Federal Act of Parliament in 1946, it is the only Australian university to be established by Federal, as opposed to State or Territory, legislation.Centered at the Acton, Canberra campus, the university comprises seven teaching and research colleges, several focused postgraduate research centres and three non-tertiary educational entities. It also hosts the Australian National Centre for the Public Awareness of Science, the National Film and Sound Archive of Australia and the National Computational Infrastructure facility.
At ANU, a program is the academic award you study towards, for example, Bachelor of Arts. Courses are the individual subjects that make up a program. A degree is a type of program.
book Program Information
Doctor of Diplomatic Studies
Doctor of Psychology (Clinical)
Executive Master of Public Administration
Graduate Certificate in Accounting
Graduate Certificate in Actuarial Techniques
Graduate Certificate in Anthropology
Graduate Certificate in Applied Epidemiology
Graduate Certificate in Applied Japanese Linguistics
ANU main campus occupies most of the Canberra suburb of Acton, covering 1.45 square kilometres (358.30 acres) of buildings, roads and access routes, preserved original vegetation and new plantings. It is roughly bisected by Sullivans Creek and is bordered by the native bushland of Black Mountain, Lake Burley Griffin, the suburb of Turner and the city centre. The ANU campus is divided into eight precincts, with three on the west side of Sullivans Creek; Dickson Precinct, Linnaeus Precinct, Daley Precinct; and five on the east side; Kingsley Precinct, Baldessin Precinct, Ellery Precinct, Liversidge Precinct and Garran Precinct.