address +44 (0)191 232 6002
  • Campus Urban and Suburban
  • Chancellor Lord Stevens of Kirkwhelpington
  • Established 1992 - gained University status
  • Location Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
  • Motto Aetas Discendi
  • Postgraduates 6,805[3]
  • Students 220 FE[3]
  • Students 29,850[3]
  • Type Public
  • Undergraduates 22,825[3]
  • Vice Chancellor Professor Andrew Wathey FRHistS FSA FRSA[2]
  • Vice principal
Northumbria University, officially The University of Northumbria at Newcastle, is an academic institution located in Newcastle upon Tyne in the North East of England. It is a member of the University Alliance.Northumbria University has its origins in three regional colleges: Rutherford College of Technology, which was established by Dr John Hunter Rutherford in 1880 and opened formally by HRH The Duke of York in 1894, the College of Art & Industrial Design and the Municipal College of Commerce.
Northumbria University employs more than 3,200 people and offers approximately 500 study programmes through eight Schools:
Burt Hall
Arts and Social Sciences
The Built and Natural Environment
Design-based in Newcastle upon Tyne and Islington, London
Health, Community and Education Studies
Computing, Engineering and Information Sciences
Life Sciences
City Campus East
The University has two large campuses. City Campus, located in the centre of Newcastle upon Tyne, is divided into City Campus East and City Campus West by the city's Central Motorway and linked by a £4million bridge which in 2006 was officially opened by the former Minister of State for Trade and Investment, Lord Digby Jones.City Campus East is home to the Schools of Law, Design and the Newcastle Business School (NBS). NBS and Law are housed in one building, and the School of Design is across a courtyard. City Campus East has become a Newcastle landmark since opening in September 2007, winning awards from The Journal newspaper and the Low Carbon New Build Project of the Year accolade.