Oxford Brookes University, Headington Campus, Gipsy Lane, Oxford OX3 0BP, UK +44 (0) 1865 741111
  • Affiliations Universities UK
  • Chancellor Shami Chakrabarti
  • Established 1992, from Oxford Polytechnic (est. 1970) ultimately from Oxford School of Art (est. 1865)
  • Location Oxford, England, UK
  • Postgraduates 4,245
  • Students 18,695[1]
  • Students 315 FE
  • Type Public
  • Undergraduates 14,135
  • Vice Chancellor Prof. Janet Beer
  • Vice principal http://www.brookes.ac.uk/
Oxford Brookes University is a new university in Oxford, England. It was named to honour former principal, John Brookes. Brookes has 18,695 students and 2,881 staff, of whom 1,471 are involved in teaching and/or research.Oxford Brookes has roots in Oxford that go back to 1865, when it started as the Oxford School of Art. The Oxford School of Art was located in a single room on the ground floor of the Taylor Institution, St. Giles. In 1870 the School of Science was incorporated into the School of Art. In 1891, under the administration of the City Council's Technical Instruction Committee, it was renamed the Oxford City Technical School, incorporating the School of Art, and plans were made to relocate to the former Blue Coat School for Boys on St. Ebbes. In 1934 the School of Art and the Technical School were merged, and John Henry Brookes, Head of the School of Art and Vice Principal of the Technical School, was appointed the first principal of the merged institution.
In September 2011 Oxford Brookes moved from 8 schools to 4 faculties:
> Faculty of Business
Faculty of Health and Life Sciences
Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Faculty of Technology, Design and Environment
Oxford Brookes University has three main campuses and a fourth in Swindon.
Headington campus
The Headington campus is located in Headington, a residential area of Oxford. It consists of the Gipsy Lane site, which is the main teaching site, the Marston Road site, being the school of Health and Social Care, and the Headington Hill site across the road from Gipsy Lane, where the Students' Union, the School of Arts, the Drama Studio and main halls of residence are located.
Wheatley campus
The Wheatley campus is set near Wheatley in the Oxfordshire countryside, seven miles south-east of the city centre, and is where business, IT, mathematics and more recently engineering subjects are taught.