582 Freemans Drive,PO Box 19, Cooranbong NSW 2265 +61 2 4980 2222
  • Academic staff ~96
  • Campus Lake Macquarie (Cooranbong): Rural
  • Campus Size Lake Macquarie 325 ha (803 acres)
  • Established 1897
  • Former Avondale School for Christian Workers, Australasian Missionary College
  • Location Cooranbong, Lake Macquarie, NSW, Australia
  • Postgraduates ~160 (2008)
  • President Dr. Ray Roennfeldt
  • Religious affiliation(s) Seventh-day Adventist Church
  • Sydney (Wahroonga): Urban
  • Type Private
  • Undergraduates ~1300 (2010)
  • Vice principal avondale.edu.au
Avondale College primarily focuses in the areas of teaching, theology, and nursing, but also offers bachelor's degrees in business, science and the arts as well as certificate studies in outdoor recreation. The nursing programme commences at the Cooranbong campus for one or two semesters and is completed at the Sydney Adventist Hospital with hands-on experience gained in the hospital. Master's degrees are offered in theology, education, nursing, ministry, and some business related fields by distance education, including a one-month on-campus component in the winter semester.
All courses are taught on the Lake Macquarie campus. The nursing school is primarily located on the grounds of Sydney Adventist Hospital in Wahroonga. Nursing students have the option of spending their first year on either campus. Postgraduate
The college offers Master's degrees (taught and research) and graduate certificates/diplomas in education, nursing, leadership and management, arts, theology and ministry. The PhD programme is offered predominantly in the fields of Seventh-day Adventist studies and Australian history.
Avondale College of Higher Education is an Australian tertiary education provider affiliated with the Seventh-day Adventist Church. Avondale College has two campuses, the Lake Macquarie campus being the primary campus situated in Cooranbong, New South Wales. The other campus is located at Sydney Adventist Hospital in the Sydney suburb of Wahroonga and is the main campus of the nursing school.