The University of Sydney NSW 2006, Australia +61 2 9351 3333
  • Admin. staff 3,081 (FTE academic, 2008)
  • Affiliations Group of Eight, APRU, ASAIHL, WUN
  • Campus Urban, Parks
  • Chancellor Her Excellency Professor Marie Bashir AC, CVO
  • Endowment A$829 million
  • Established 1850
  • Location Sydney, New South Wales, Australa
  • Postgraduates 16,627 (2011)
  • Students 49,020 (2011)
  • Type Public
  • Undergraduates 32,393 (2011)
  • Vice Chancellor The Reverend Michael Spence
  • Vice principal
The University of Sydney is a public university located in Sydney, New South Wales. The main campus spreads across the suburbs of Camperdown and Darlington on the southwestern outskirts of the Sydney CBD. Founded in 1850, it is the oldest university in Australia and Oceania. It has 32,393 undergraduate and 16,627 graduate students (2011).The University of Sydney is a member of Australia's Group of Eight, Academic Consortium 21, the Association of Pacific Rim Universities (APRU) and the Worldwide Universities Network. The University is also colloquially known as one of Australia's sandstone universities.
Undergraduate courses
Bachelor of Agricultural Economics
Agriculture Undergraduate Cross-Institutional
Agriculture Undergraduate Non-Degree
Bachelor of Animal and Veterinary Bioscience
Bachelor of Applied Science (Exercise and Sport Science)
Bachelor of Applied Science (Exercise and Sport Science) and Master of Nutrition and Dietetics
Bachelor of Applied Science (Exercise and Sport Science) Honours
Bachelor of Applied Science (Exercise Physiology)
The main campus is spread across two inner-city suburbs of Sydney: Camperdown and Darlington.Originally housed in what is now Sydney Grammar School, in 1855, the government granted the University land in Grose Farm, three kilometres from the city, which is now the main Camperdown campus. The architect Edmund Blacket designed the original Neogothic sandstone Quadrangle and Great Tower buildings, which were completed in 1862. The rapid expansion of the University in the mid-20th century resulted in the acquisition of land in Darlington across City Road. The Camperdown/Darlington campus houses the University's administrative headquarters, and the Faculties of Arts, Science, Education and Social Work, Pharmacy, Veterinary Science, Economics and Business, Architecture, and Engineering. It is also the home base of the large Faculty of Medicine, which has numerous affiliated teaching hospitals across the state.