University Drive, Callaghan, NSW 2308 Australia +61 2 4921 5000
  • Admin. staff 2,190 FTE (excluding Controlled Entities)
  • Campus Urban
  • Chancellor Ken Moss
  • Established 1965
  • Location Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
  • Organisations Member of IRU Australia and AACSB International
  • Postgraduates 6,388
  • Students 30,340 (2008)
  • Type Public
  • Undergraduates 23,948
  • Vice Chancellor Professor Caroline McMillen
  • Vice principal
The University of Newcastle (UoN) is an Australian public university that was established in 1965. The University's main and largest campus is located in Callaghan, a suburb of Newcastle in New South Wales. The University also has campuses in Ourimbah, Port Macquarie, Singapore and Sydney CBD.The university has enrolled approximately 15,256 full-time students and 15,080 part-time students (including more than 23,948 undergraduates).Historically, the University of Newcastle Medical School has implemented the Problem-based learning system for its undergraduate Bachelor of Medicine programme-a system later mandated for use by the Australian Medical Council throughout Australia.
Our postgraduate study options give you the flexibility to design a program that suits your lifestyle.You have the choice of studying face-to-face at Newcastle, Central Coast or Sydney, studying online, or a combination of both-it's up to you. Whether you're looking to advance your career, learn new skills or simply 'add another string to your bow', the University of Newcastle's postgraduate study programs are designed to suit your life.
The university has five campuses, located at Callaghan, Ourimbah, Port Macquarie, Singapore and Sydney CBD. The university also has three premises within the Newcastle city centre.Newcastle (Callaghan campus) The Callaghan campus is the university’s main and largest campus. It is located in the Newcastle suburb of Callaghan situated approximately 12 kilometres (7 mi) from Newcastle CBD. The campus is placed on 140 hectares (346 acres) of natural bushland within which the university’s numerous buildings are located.