The University of New South Wales,SYDNEY,NSW 2052,AUSTRALIA 61 2 93851000
  • Admin. staff 6,014
  • Affiliations Group of Eight, Universitas 21, Australian Defence Force Academy, Association of Commonwealth Universities
  • Chancellor Mr David Gonski, AC
  • Endowment AUD $1.42 Bn
  • Established 1949 as the New South Wales University of Technology.
  • Former Sydney Mechanics' Institute (1843) Sydney Technical College (1878) New South Wales University of Technology (1949)
  • Location Kensington, Paddington, New South Wales, Australia
  • Postgraduates 12,304
  • President Professor Frederick G. Hilmer, AO
  • Students 46,302
  • Type Public
  • Undergraduates 24,485
  • Vice Chancellor Professor Frederick G. Hilmer, AO
  • Vice principal
The University of New South Wales (UNSW) (informally New South), is a research-focused university based in Kensington, a suburb in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. The university is a member of the "Group of Eight" coalition of leading Australian universities and is also a founding member of Universitas 21, an international network of leading research-intensive universities. Despite its relatively short history, founded in 1949, UNSW is recognised as one of Australia’s leading teaching and research institutions, and has developed a strong reputation in a number of fields.Graduates from the university are held in high regard by employers and receive some of the highest starting salaries in comparison to other universities in Australia.
UNSW offers a range of non-award and short courses. Some courses are a pathway into university for those without the necessary qualification. Others are designed to upgrade your career skills, or to enrich, fulfill, satisfy and excite you. Courses are available to individuals, business groups, and industry. Please refer to the individual webpages for course requirements.
University Preparation Program
Cross-Institutional & Non-Award (Voluntary) Study
Bridging Courses
Short Courses
HSC University Pathways
The main UNSW campus is situated in Kensington, Sydney. Two of the University's faculties are situated elsewhere. The College of Fine Arts, is located in the inner suburb of Paddington. The Australian Defence Force Academy is situated in Canberra. The University also has additional campuses and field stations at Randwick, Coogee, Botany, Dee Why, Cowan, Manly Vale, Fowlers Gap and Bankstown Airport.