Locked Bag 1797 Penrith NSW 2751 + 61 2 9852 5588
  • Admin. staff 2,551 (2009)
  • Affiliations AACSB, ACU, AHURI, AMC, CAPA, IAU, TVS, UA
  • Campus Urban, 1713.5 (ha) 24.1 - Bankstown 26.7 - Blacktown 154.8 - Campbelltown 1,280 - Hawkesbury 24.4 - Parramatta 203.5 - Penrith
  • Chancellor Mr Peter Shergold AC
  • Endowment A$474.3m (2009)
  • Established 1989 as the University of Western Sydney1891 as the Hawkesbury Agricultural College 1813 as the Parramatta Female Orphan School
  • Location Sydney, NSW, Australia
  • Postgraduates 8,899 (2009)
  • Students 37,426 (2009)
  • Type Public
  • Undergraduates 28,527 (2009)
  • Vice Chancellor Professor Janice Reid AM
  • Vice principal www.uws.edu.au
The University of Western Sydney, also known as UWS, is a multi-campus, university in the Greater Western region of Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. It was ranked among the top 600 universities in the world by the Times Higher Education/QS ranking. UWS has campuses in Greater Western Sydney-Parramatta, Richmond, Blacktown, Penrith (comprising Werrington South, Werrington North, and Kingswood), Bankstown, and Campbelltown. UWS is a provider of undergraduate, postgraduate and higher research degrees. Many of UWS researchers have an international reputation. In recent years UWS has opened a medical school. If all UWS campuses were to be combined, it would total approximately 1713.50 (ha) hectares.
UWS offers you the flexibility to combine studies that put you in the best position to specialise in particular areas, or to keep your options more open.At UWS, we aim to give you the edge in your chosen career. This comes in the form of special programs linking you to industry and employers, as well as international study opportunities. To support you through your studies, a range of university scholarships are available. For information on our undergraduate courses, please refer to the Areas of Study that interest you
Arts courses
Business courses
Communication Arts courses
Engineering, Information and Communications Technology courses
Forensics courses
Health Science, Nursing and Sport Science courses
Law courses
Medicine courses
Policing and Criminology courses
Psychology courses
Sciences courses
Social Sciences courses
Teaching and Education courses
Tourism and Urban Planning courses
The University of Western Sydney is made up of six campuses and one precinct, with each campus hosting their own unique array of courses, of which different units can be completed across multiple campuses.
Bankstown Campus Library The UWS Bankstown Campus is a relatively new campus, located at Milperra, about 5 kilometres (3.1 mi) from the Bankstown CBD. Specialising in the social sciences, most of the students on campus are psychology, sociology, arts and linguistic students.
Campbelltown campus
Hawkesbury campus
Parramatta campus and Westmead precinct
Penrith campus