University of Ulster, Cromore Road, Coleraine, Co. Londonderry, BT52 1SA 028 70123456
  • Academic staff 1,114
  • Affiliations EUA
  • Chancellor James Nesbitt[1]
  • Established 1968, founded by Elizabeth II. merged 1984
  • Location Belfast, Coleraine, Magee & Jordanstown, Northern Ireland
  • Postgraduates 5,995[2]
  • Students 27,595[2][dead link]
  • Undergraduates 21,595[2]
  • Vice Chancellor Prof Richard Barnett
  • Vice principal
The University of Ulster (previously shortened to UU; Irish: Ollscoil Uladh,Ulster Scots: Universitie o Ulstèr or Varsitie o Ulster)is a multi-campus, co-educational university located in Northern Ireland. It is the largest single university in Ireland, discounting the federal National University of Ireland. The University of Ulster was established in 1968 as the New University of Ulster and can trace its roots back to 1845 when Magee College was established in Derry and 1849, when the School of Art and Design was inaugurated in Belfast. The university incorporated its four campuses in 1984 under the University of Ulster banner; these are located in Belfast, Coleraine (site of the administrative headquarters), Magee College in Derry, and Jordanstown. A fifth distance learning campus, Campus One, delivers online programmes; mainly at graduate level.
The faculties of the University (and the dean of each faculty listed after), are:
Faculty of Arts, Professor Pól Ó Dochartaigh
Faculty of Art, Design and the Built Environment, Professor Ian Montgomery
Faculty of Computing and Engineering, Professor Richard Millar
Faculty of Life and Health Sciences, Professor Hugh McKenna
Faculty of Social Sciences, Professor Paul Carmichael"
Ulster Business School, Professor Marie McHugh
The University of Ulster has a strong reputation for innovation. In order to create new pathways into higher education the University of Ulster initiated its Online Distance Learning (ODL) project called Campus One. The Campus One programme provides an alternative mode of study, with a range of courses available online to students all over the world. Campus One courses range from full postgraduate programmes, professional development and continuing development courses; through to short business-focused courses all offered over the InternetThe University of Ulster currently maintains 5 sites across Northern Ireland, as well as one "Online" site. In February 2009 the university announced the movement of many courses from the Jordanstown campus to the main Belfast campus and a consolidation of student numbers at Coleraine and the reuse of university grounds for a business park.[