James Cook University, Townsville, QLD 4811 AUSTRALIA 07 4781 4111
  • Affiliations IRUA
  • Campus Suburban
  • Chancellor Lieutenant General John Grey AC (ret'd)
  • Established 1970
  • Location Townsville, Brisbane, Cairns, Singapore, Queensland, Australia, Singapore
  • Postgraduates 3,663(2007)
  • Type Public
  • Undergraduates 12,093(2007)
  • Vice Chancellor Sandra Harding
  • Vice principal http://www.jcu.edu.au
James Cook University (JCU) is a public university based in Townsville, Queensland, Australia. The university has three Australian campuses, located in Townsville, Brisbane and Cairns respectively, and an international campus in Singapore. JCU is the second oldest university in Queensland-proclaimed in 1970-and the first tertiary education institution in North Queensland. JCU is one of only seventeen Australian universities that were listed in the ARWU top 400 academic world universities in 2008.Main fields of research include marine sciences, biodiversity, sustainable management of tropical ecosystems, tropical health care and tourism. JCU was one of the first Australian universities to offer tourism studies, and is recognised as a global leader in tourism education. The university's scholars have been ranked among the world’s top tourism academics by the prestigious Tourism Management Journal.
A qualification in business opens the door to great opportunities and a huge variety of careers. Business graduates hold key positions across all sectors including finance, the arts, defence and police forces, mining, agriculture, manufacturing, export, real estate, technology, retail, leisure and entertainment, tourism, health, charities, welfare organisations and education.
Accounting and Business
Bachelors degrees
Bachelor of Business (Accounting)
Bachelor of Business (Financial Management)
Bachelor of Business and Environmental Science
Bachelor of Sustainability (Business)
Diplomas and Certificates
Certificate of Business
Certificate of Business Law
Diploma of Business
Joint degrees
Bachelor of Arts-Bachelor of Business
Bachelor of Business (Accounting) -Bachelor of Laws
Bachelor of Business-Bachelor of Laws
Bachelor of Business-Bachelor of Psychology
Bachelor of Sport and Exercise Science-Bachelor of Business
The Cairns Campus of James Cook University is located 15 kilometres NNW of Cairns CBD, a city on the east coast of Australia, in the suburb of Smithfield. Opened in 1996, this campus is situated in a mountainous rainforest area of tropical North Queensland.