University of Adelaide, Adelaide, 5005 Australia 8313 5208
  • Admin. staff 3,159
  • Affiliations Member of the Group of Eight, ASAIHL, ACU
  • Chancellor The Hon. Robert Hill
  • Established 1874
  • Location Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
  • Overseas Education Centre Singapore
  • Rural Roseworthy
  • Students 25,000
  • Suburban: Waite, Thebarton and the National Wine Centre
  • Type Public
  • Vice Chancellor Professor Warren Bebbington
  • Vice principal
The University of Adelaide (colloquially Adelaide University or Adelaide Uni) is a public university in Adelaide, South Australia. Established in 1874, it is the third oldest university in Australia. It is associated with five Nobel laureates, 104 Rhodes scholars and is a member of the Group of Eight, as well as the sandstone universities.Its main campus is on the cultural boulevard of North Terrace in the Adelaide city centre, adjacent to the Art Gallery of South Australia, the South Australian Museum and the State Library of South Australia. The university has five campuses throughout the state: North Terrace; Roseworthy College at Roseworthy; The Waite Institute at Urrbrae; Thebarton; and the National Wine Centre in the Adelaide Park Lands. It has a sixth campus, the Ngee Ann-Adelaide Education Centre (NAAEC), in Singapore.
The University of Adelaide is one of the most research-intensive universities in Australia. The University has an outstanding track record spanning basic research to commercial outcomes and continue to produce real results at home and overseas. In the highly competitive funding environment, researchers continue to attract strong support across a broad range of fascinating and compelling fields including agriculture, health sciences and engineering.Research strengths include; Agriculture, Environment, Mineral & Energy Resources, Social Innovation, Health & Biomedical Science and Sensing & Computation. As a leading research University, they are committed to providing unique opportunities for graduates and researchers, who are recognised as worldwide leaders for their vision and capacity to address global research challenges.
The main campus of the University forms the centre of Adelaide's main cultural precinct, North Terrace. It is bordered by the Art Gallery of South Australia, the State Library of South Australia, the South Australian Museum and the "City East" campus of the University of South Australia, with the Adelaide University Medical and Dental Schools located across Frome Road, behind the Royal Adelaide Hospital.The vast majority of students and staff of the University are based at the North Terrace campus, where the majority of courses are taught and schools are based. The central administration of the University and the main library, the Barr Smith Library, are both located on this campus. While many other universities have law and business schools or satellite campuses within the central business district, the University of Adelaide is unique among Australian sandstone universities for having its main presence adjacent to the main business and shopping precinct.