University of Tasmania, Australia ABN 30 764 374 782 03 6324 3999
  • Academic staff 1,226 (2010)
  • Affiliations ASAIHL ACU
  • Campus Urban
  • Chancellor Damian Bugg
  • Established 1890
  • Location Hobart, Launceston and Burnie, Tasmania, Australia
  • Postgraduates 5,540 (2010)
  • Type Public
  • Undergraduates 21,243 (2010)
  • Vice Chancellor Professor Peter Rathjen
  • Vice principal
The University of Tasmania (UTAS) is a medium-sized public Australian university based in Tasmania, Australia. Officially founded on 1 January 1890, it was the fourth university to be established in nineteenth-century Australia. UTAS is a sandstone university and is a member of the international Association of Commonwealth Universities. UTAS offers various undergraduate and graduate programs in a range of disciplines. UTAS has also been consistently ranked in the top 10 universities in Australia for research citation needed and has links with 20 specialist research institutes, cooperative research centres and faculty based research centres; many of which are regarded as nationally and internationally competitive leaders.UTAS has a student population of nearly 26,800, including over 6,000 international students (on and offshore) and 1000 PhD students.
Welcome to the University of Tasmania. The Admissions Office manages the application process for domestic Undergraduate and Postgraduate Coursework students. Domestic applicants include Australian and New Zealand Citizens, Australian Permanent Resident Visa holders and Australian Permanent Humanitarian Visa holders.
Undergraduate Course list
Associate Degree in Arts
Bachelor of Arts
Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Fine Arts (Combined)
Bachelor of Fine Arts
Bachelor of Music
Postgraduate Course List
Graduate Certificate in Contemporary Arts (Specialisation)
Bachelor of Arts with Honours
Graduate Certificate in Fine Art and Design (Specialisation)
UTAS has three main campuses. The southern campus encompasses a 100-hectare site in Sandy Bay, about 10 minutes from the Hobart CBD. The Sandy Bay campus overlooks the estuary of the River Derwent and has the majestic Mount Wellington as its backdrop. The northern campus is in the suburb of Newnham, looking down to the River Tamar, about 10 minutes from the centre of Tasmania’s second largest city, Launceston.The Australian Maritime College is based on the Newnham campus. Established in 1995, the Cradle Coast campus in Burnie caters for academics and students in the State’s north-west. It underwent significant expansion in 2008. Also in Burnie is the University’s state-of the-art Rural Clinical School. There are a number of satellite campuses including the Tasmanian Conservatorium of Music and the Tasmanian School of Arts in the Centre for the Arts in the heart of Hobart’s cultural precinct. Also in downtown Hobart is the Medical Sciences Precinct, part of a new education and research complex that encompasses the School of Medicine and the Menzies Research Institute. UTAS established a presence in Sydney in 2006 and is now delivering nursing and paramedic courses from the Darlinghurst and Rozelle campuses.