Monash University, Victoria 3800, Australia +61 3 9902 6000
  • Academic staff 8172
  • Affiliations Group of Eight, ASAIHL, Monash College
  • Campus Clayton, Caulfield, Berwick, Peninsula, Parkville, Gippsland
  • Chancellor Alan Finkel AM
  • Endowment A$1.178 billion
  • Established 1958
  • Location Melbourne, Vc. Australia (Main Clayton Campus)
  • Postgraduates 16,000
  • Type Public
  • Undergraduates 39,000
  • Vice Chancellor Edward Byrne, AO
  • Vice principal
Monash University (or simply Monash) is a public university based in Melbourne, Victoria. It was founded in 1958 and is the second oldest university in the state. Monash is a member of Australia's Group of Eight and the ASAIHL. Monash enrolls approximately 39,000 undergraduate and 16,000 graduate students,making it the university with the largest student body in Australia. It also has more applicants than any university in the state of Victoria. Monash is home to major research facilities, including the Australian Synchrotron, the Monash Science Technology Research and Innovation Precinct (STRIP), the Australian Stem Cell Centre, 100 research centres[4] and 17 co-operative research centres. In 2008, Monash University attracted more than $210 million of research investment and grants from various Government bodies and external organisations.
If you've always dreamt of a career in law, politics, or diplomacy, Monash has a flexible degree that will suit you. You can start next year and graduate with a law degree in as little as four years. You can take on a double degree or simply combine law or policy studies with other areas such as languages, engineering and business.
Law and policy
Business law
Commercial law
Communications law
Criminal law
Actuarial studies
Business information systems
Business statistics
Business strategy
The Clayton campus covers an area over 1.1 kmĀ² and is the largest of the Monash campuses. Clayton is the flagship campus for Monash, demanding higher ATAR (Australian Tertiary Admission Rank) scores than all the other campuses, with the exception of Parkville. Clayton is home to the faculties of Arts, Business & Economics, Education, Engineering, IT, Law, Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences and Science. The Clayton campus has its own suburb and postcode (3800). Various major scientific research facilities are located on or adjacent to the campus. Chief among these are the Australian Synchrotron and the CSIRO.