GPO Box 5387, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 3001 +61 3 9902 6891
  • Admin. staff 150
  • Campus Distance Learning
  • Established 1993
  • Location Headquarters in Melbourne, Vic. Australia
  • Students 40,000
  • Type Public university consortium
  • Vice principal
Open Universities Australia (OUA) (previously The Open Learning Agency of Australia (OLA)) is an Australian open distance education organisation. Most students are based in Australia, however the courses are available to the rest of the world. Undergraduate courses offered have no first year entry requirements, and there are no quotas for most courses, hence the 'open' aspect. Open Universities Australia is owned by seven Australian universities. It is governed by a Board of Directors consisting of nominees of the owner universities plus up to 5 independent Directors. The current chairman is Sam Weiss, and the Chief Executive Officer is Paul Wappett.
Browse courses & units by area of study
Arts & humanities courses
Business courses
Education courses
TAFE courses
Arts & humanities courses
The organisation is a consortium of several Australian universities and colleges, seven of whom own it, with courses being taught through each individual university or college.
Shareholder Institutions
Curtin University of Technology
Griffith University
Macquarie University
Monash University
RMIT University
Swinburne University of Technology
University of South Australia