Swinburne University, PO Box 218, HAWTHORN, VIC 3122 +61 3 8676 7002
http://www.swinburne.edu.au/ study@swinburne.edu.au
  • Admin. staff 2,705 (2011)
  • Affiliations ACU, ASAIHL, ECIU, OUA
  • Campus Urban
  • Chancellor Bill Scales, AO
  • Established 1908
  • Location Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Postgraduates 3,293 (2011)
  • Students 30,632 (2011)
  • Students 678 (2011)
  • Type Public
  • Undergraduates 15,150 (2011)
  • Vice Chancellor Professor Linda Kristjanson
  • Vice principal www.swinburne.edu.au
Swinburne University of Technology is an Australian public university based in Melbourne, Victoria. The institution was founded by the Honourable George Swinburne in 1908. George Swinburne’s vision and passion saw the Eastern Suburbs Technical College established on the 8 July 1908. Eighty young men and boys enrolled in classes for the 1909 school year. Subjects represented the interests of the time. They included carpentry, plumbing and gas fitting. In 1913 the college changed its name to Swinburne Technical College to commemorate the man who had worked tirelessly towards its inception.
Swinburne offers university courses, also known as degrees or undergraduate programs, at its Hawthorn, Lilydale and Prahran campuses.
Undergraduate course options and terminology:
Associate degree
Double degree
Electives Plus
The Hawthorn campus is Swinburne’s main campus. It hosts a range of undergraduate and vocational courses, postgraduate programs, short courses and research. The Hawthorn campus is home to Australia's first Graduate School of Entrepreneurship which is the only school in Australia of its kind dedicated to the development of entrepreneurs. The campus is also the hub of Swinburne’s research activity and training centres and houses research tools including one of the fastest supercomputers in Australia, a 3D Virtual Reality Theatre, and Australia’s first baby-friendly neuroscience laboratory.