P.O. Box 663, Ballarat, VIC 3353 +61 3 5327 9000
  • Admin. staff 260
  • Affiliations New Generation Universities (NGU)
  • Established 1994
  • Location Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
  • Students 25,810 (2008)
  • Type Public
  • Vice Chancellor Prof David Battersby
  • Vice principal http://www.ballarat.edu.au/
The University of Ballarat is a dual-sector university in Ballarat, Victoria, Australia. It was formed by the passage of an Act of the Victorian Parliament in 1994, from the Ballarat College of Advanced Education. It subsequently merged with the Ballarat School of Mines and Industries (1870) and the Horsham based Wimmera Institute of TAFE in 1998 to create a larger University. According to the university's records as of 2008, there were 25,810 students consisting of 13,820 higher education students and 11,990 Technical and Further Education students. The report states that 11,460 students are at the Ballarat campus, but does not differentiate between higher education students and Technical and Further Education students.
The University of Ballarat Foundation Access Studies Program (FAST) is a full time program over one semester, designed to prepare students for study in a degree level course at the University of Ballarat. The FAST Program is designed to provide alternative entry to tertiary study at UB.FAST allows prospective students to experience university study while giving them enough skills and confidence to undertake degree level studies in the following semester.
The University has six campuses: three in Ballarat, and one each in Ararat, Horsham and Stawell.
Camp Street Campus
SMB Campus
Western Victorian Campuses
Mount Helen campus