Singleton Park, Margam Building Swansea University Swansea SA2 8PP UK +44 (0) 1792 602 888
  • Admin. staff 2,500
  • Affiliations University of Wales, EUA, ACU
  • Campus Suburban/Coastal
  • Chancellor The Rt. Hon. Rhodri Morgan
  • Established 1920
  • Location Swansea, UK
  • Postgraduates 2,145[1]
  • Students 18,445[1]
  • Students 4,570 FE[1]
  • Type Public
  • Undergraduates 11,730[1]
  • Vice Chancellor Professor Richard B. Davies
  • Vice principal
Swansea University (Welsh: Prifysgol Abertawe) is a university located in Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom. Swansea University was chartered as University College of Swansea in 1920, as the fourth college of the University of Wales. In 1996, it changed its name to the University of Wales Swansea following structural changes within the University of Wales. The new title of Swansea University was formally adopted on 1 September 2007 when the University of Wales became a non-membership confederal institution and the former members became universities in their own right. It is the third largest university in Wales in terms of number of students. The university campus is located next to the coast at the north of Swansea Bay, east of the Gower Peninsula, in the grounds of Singleton Park, just outside Swansea city centre. Swansea was granted its own degree-awarding powers in 2005 in preparation for possible changes within the University of Wales.
Swansea is a highly research intensive university with 52 Centres of Research. The 2008 Research Assessment Exercise rankings for Swansea showed a doubling of world-leading research and the largest increase in internationally excellent research in the whole of the UK, resulting in Swansea University climbing 13 places in the UK rankings from 2001 to 2008. Almost 50 per cent of all research at Swansea University was assessed as world-leading or internationally excellent - 4* and 3*- the top two categories of assessment.

Accounting and Finance
Business and Economics
Computer Science
Media Studies
Politics & International Relations
Sports Science
The majority of university buildings are on the Singleton Campus, based in the grounds of Singleton Park, adjacent to Swansea Bay. The campus also includes the nearby Sports Village and Hendrefoelan Student Village, about 2.5 miles away.