Singleton Park Swansea SA2 8PP Wales, UK +44 (0)1792 205678
  • Admin. staff 2,500
  • Affiliations University of Wales, EUA, ACU
  • Campus Suburban/Coastal
  • Chancellor The Rt. Hon. Rhodri Morgan
  • Established 1920
  • Location Swansea, UK
  • Postgraduates 2,145[1]
  • Students 18,445[1]
  • Students 4,570 FE[1]
  • Type Public
  • Undergraduates 11,730[1]
  • Vice Chancellor Professor Richard B. Davies
  • Vice principal
Swansea University (Welsh: Prifysgol Abertawe) is a university located in Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom. Swansea University was chartered as University College of Swansea in 1920, as the fourth college of the University of Wales. In 1996, it changed its name to the University of Wales Swansea following structural changes within the University of Wales. The new title of Swansea University was formally adopted on 1 September 2007 when the University of Wales became a non-membership confederal institution and the former members became universities in their own right. It is the third largest university in Wales in terms of number of students.
The new Centre brings together more than 30 experts from a range of disciplines (engineering, physics, chemistry, biology and medicine) and a central suite of laboratories housing state-of-the-art facilities. The Centre is recognised as a growth area within the University that will spearhead the nanotechnology activity across the whole of Wales. Of particular interests are directions based on semiconductors, oxides, liquids, organic and biological materials. Emerging fields such as bio-electronics, nano-medicine, nano-fabrication, nano-rheology, fundamental modelling at the nanoscopic level and bio-nanotechnology have been identified as key areas to develop.
The university campus is located next to the coast at the north of Swansea Bay, east of the Gower Peninsula, in the grounds of Singleton Park, just outside Swansea city centre. The majority of university buildings are on the Singleton Campus, based in the grounds of Singleton Park, adjacent to Swansea Bay. The campus also includes the nearby Sports Village and Hendrefoelan Student Village, about 2.5 miles away.