Pontypridd Wales UK CF37 1DL +44 (0)1443 654450
  • Chancellor Lord Morris of Aberavon[3]
  • Established 1992 - gained University status 1913 - South Wales and Monmouthshire school of mines[2]
  • Location Trefforest, Wales, UK
  • Motto Success Through Endeavour[1]
  • Postgraduates 3,256
  • Students 21,496
  • Type Public
  • Undergraduates 18,240
  • Vice Chancellor Julie Lydon [3]
  • Vice principal http://www.glam.ac.uk
The University of Glamorgan (Welsh: Prifysgol Morgannwg) is a university based in Pontypridd, Rhondda Cynon Taf, Wales with campuses in Trefforest, Glyntaff, Merthyr Tydfil, Tyn y Wern (The Glamorgan Sport Park) and Cardiff. The university has four faculties, and is the only university in Wales which has no current or former link with the University of Wales. The University of Glamorgan was founded in 1913 as a School of Mines based in Trefforest, Pontypridd, serving the large coal mining industry in the South Wales Valleys. The school was owned and funded by the major Welsh coal owners, through a levy of one tenth of a penny on each ton of coal produced by the companies involved. Glamorgan is the first university in Wales, and only the 8th in the whole of the UK, to have been awarded the nationally recognised Investor in People status, for staff training and development.
The University currently serves around 21,500 students, with 10,227 registered as full-time undergraduates. The university currently offers around 200 courses and in 2009 claimed to have one of the highest graduate employment rates in Wales, reporting that 94.3 per cent of 2007-08 graduates found employment within six months of graduation. The bulk of full-time students enter through the UCAS system with A-levels or equivalent qualifications and many of the University's degree courses are selective in that they require specific A-levels or above average grades for entry.
The University has several campuses:

Treforest - the main campus plays host to the bulk of academic departments and facilities, including the indoor sports centre and students union. It is accessed via Treforest railway station from either Cardiff, Merthyr or the Rhondda; regular bus services or the A470.
Glyntaff - houses the Faculty of Health, Sport and Science. All Science and Sport subjects are based here, including Police Sciences and Nursing.
Partner colleges - The University has specialised "partner colleges" throughout South Wales; for example, Barry College for aeronautical engineering.
Merthyr Tydfil - Merthyr Tydfil College has become part of the University of Glamorgan Group (but not part of the University), although its focus remains on delivering Further Education rather than Higher Education.
Tyn y Wern - Is home to the new Glamorgan Sport Park.
ATRiuM - The Cardiff School of Creative and Cultural Industries is based at a Cardiff campus located close to Cardiff Queen Street railway station.